About Us

What is the Grosse Pointe War Memorial?

For over half a century, the War Memorial has remained true to its purpose of touching the lives of those in our community through programs and services. Our objective, every day, is to foster growth through learning and enrichment. Hopefully, each time the War Memorial is used, we are reminded of how fortunate we are to have a center for community activity as alive and useful as is ours.

We welcome you to our home, and hope that you will discover all the many facets of our service to the community and our dedication to its improvement through our commitment to providing the highest quality programs and events.

Our History

The spacious Italian Renaissance-style home built in 1910 for Russell A. Alger, Jr. and his family was designed by architect Charles A. Platt of New York. Mrs. Allen Shipman was the landscape architect; and the house and gardens were designed together as a unit with particular attention to the use of various ground levels to the best advantage. It was called The Moorings.

For two decades after its completion, the Moorings was the family headquarters for Alger, his wife Marion, and their children, Russell III, Fay and the daring Josephine.

After Russell Alger’s death in 1930, the family sought a way for the house to be used to improve the quality of life in the community. In 1949, it was dedicated to a twofold purpose: to serve as a perpetual memorial to the 3,500 Grosse Pointers who served and the 126 who died in World War II; and it was to serve as a continuing center for educational and charitable activities of the Grosse Pointe community. The War Memorial is unusual – some say unique – because of its dual use.

Bronzed plaques near the grand staircase preserve the names of all Grosse Pointers who served in World War II as well as the names of those who died. Smaller plaques in the entrance hall list those who served in the Korean and Vietnam conflicts and in Operation Desert Storm. In addition, a meritorious service plaque honors those killed during peacetime.

Two additions have expanded the facilities of the War Memorial. The Fries Auditorium and Crystal Ballroom were dedicated in 1962, and the Center for Arts and Communications was completed in 1993.

Our Mission

Honoring those who served our country in the Armed Forces, the War Memorial provides educational, cultural, civic and patriotic programs, services and facilities to enrich the lives of the Community.

Our Core Values

Our contribution to the community
Our commitment to professional transparency
Our diversity of offerings
Our commitment to patriotism
Our stewardship of a local, state and national institution

Our Vision

The vision of the Grosse Pointe War Memorial is to be a financially stable and active center for community enrichment through its programs, facilities and services that is well respected for its commitment to the community in honor of veterans.

Our Board of Directors

Susan Davies, Chairman

William G. Jennings, D.D.S., Past Chairman

Brett Collins

Betsy Creedon

Beverly Curtiss Walsh

Don Joseph DeSeranno

J. Theodore Everingham

Edmund Lazar

Constantine Leon

Linda Lloyd

Rolf Mammen

Patrick A. Moran

James N. Motschall, Jr.

John M. O’Brien

Theresa Selvaggio

Toni Stinson

Deborah Thompson

Staff

Executive Office

Charles Burke – President /CEO

Kathy Schutter – Development Manager kschutter@warmemorial.org ext. 111

 

Renee Gasparovich- Executive Assistant to the President/CEO rgasparovich@warmemorial.org ext. 204

 

Lifelong Learning

Wanda Claes – Lifelong Learning Director wclaes@warmemorial.org ext. 103

Julia Catalfio – Programming Coordinator jcatalfio@warmemorial.org ext. 115

Tami O’Shea – Programming Coordinator toshea@warmemorial.org ext. 114

Magge Bonomo – Graphic Design mbonomo@warmemorial.org ext. 110

Registration Desk ext. 145

 

WMTV

Kermit Potter – Television Operations Manager kpotter@warmemorial.org ext. 131

Lauren Parrott – Editing Assistant lparrott@warmemorial.org ext. 130

Jeremy Dulac – Editing Assistant jdulac@warmemorial.org ext. 133

 

Finance

Elaine Langer – Finance Director elanger@warmemorial.org ext. 107

Joan McCray – Accounts Receivable/IT Coordinator jmccray@warmemorial.org ext. 109

Sharon Johnson – Accounts Payable/Payroll Coordinator sjohnson@warmemorial.org ext. 108

 

Catering & Food Service Planners

Mela Leiter – Non-profit & Corporate Events Manager mleiter@warmemorial.org ext. 141

Stephanie Berger – Non-profit & Corporate Events Coordinator sberger@warmemorial.org ext. 228

Cheryl Armijo – Special Occasions & Events Manager carmijo@warmemorial.org ext. 142

Sylvia Ross-Schultz – Special Occasions & Events Coordinator sross-schultz@warmemorial.org ext. 128

Chad Harbin – Food Service Manager charbin@warmemorial.org ext. 117

 

Physical Plant (House & Grounds/Building Maintenance)

Larry O’Keefe – Physical Plant Director lokeefe@warmemorial.org ext. 127