Executive Leadership

Charles Burke, President and CEO

  Charles Burke   Claudia Corrado   Executive Assistant and Board Liaison  313.332.4010  ccorrado@warmemorial.org

Charles Burke
Claudia Corrado
Executive Assistant and Board Liaison
313.332.4010
ccorrado@warmemorial.org

Charles Burke is the President and CEO of The War Memorial, a waterfront cultural campus that curates experiences focusing on arts, culture, film, patriotism, community connectivity, and leadership. His work has empowered the total transformation of The War Memorial as a regional impact organization that embraces a culture of curiosity, accessibility, transparency, service, entrepreneurialism, and nuanced disruption.

Under Charles’ leadership, The War Memorial annually welcomes more than 250,000 patrons with over 3,000 events, all while incubating more than 50 non-profit organizations. The nationally registered historic campus includes the Crystal Ballroom; the Patriot Theater for arts, culture, and film; a television production studio; multiple art galleries; classrooms; historic gardens; and a 1910 Italian Renaissance-style estate home designed by architect Charles A. Platt. Charles’ work has delivered significant growth in all aspects of the institution’s diverse array of sustainable business lines, including Community Engagement via arts and cultural events and classes; thought-provoking Humanities programming; online and television broadcasts; strategic alignments with the nonprofit sector; premiere Hospitality events and services; Endowment and Governance administration; and brand advancement with creative Fund Development.


Thomas Smith, Chairman of the Board

  Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith

The War Memorial is pleased to announce the evolution of our leadership team with our new Chairman of the Board of Directors, Thomas Smith. Thomas, the son of a Marine and a veteran himself, was unanimously elected by his fellow board directors, beginning his tenure in August 2018. A resident of Grosse Pointe, Thomas is the founder and president of taktik(z), Inc., a company which bridges regional industrial manufacturing with U.S. government agencies. We warmly welcome Thomas, and eagerly anticipate the leadership and commitment he will continue to offer our growing institution.


Community Engagement and Programming

Brooks Hoste
Vice President of Community Engagement and Programming
313.332.4024
bhoste@warmemorial.org

Denise Fry
Director of Community Engagement
313.332.4056
dfry@warmemorial.org

Jessica Kaminski
Manager of Communications and Programming
313.332.4053
jkaminski@warmemorial.org

Ryan Nichols
Manager of Media and Television Production
313.332.4026
rnichols@warmemorial.org

Shawna Norris
Community Engagement Coordinator
313.332.4074
snorris@warmemorial.org

Lauren Parrott
Patron Experience Associate
313.332.4055
lparrott@warmemorial.org

Jo Ann Enekes
Patron Experience Associate
313.881.7511
jenekes@warmemorial.org

Charles Ohlsson
Patron Experience Associate
313.881.7511
cohlsson@warmemorial.org


Hospitality and Patron Experience

Nikki Charbonneau
Vice President of Hospitality and Patron Experience
313.332.4057
ncharbonneau@warmemorial.org

Natalia Tarnavksy
Executive Chef
313.332.4069
ntarnavsky@warmemorial.org

Karen Chan
Banquet Manager
313.881.7511
kchan@warmemorial.org

Emily Orttenburger
Hospitality Systems Administrator
313.881.7511
eorttenburger@warmemorial.org

Alondra Kennedy
Senior Event Sales Coordinator
313.332.4054
akennedy@warmemorial.org

Emily Dekker
Event Sales Coordinator
313.332.4064
edekker@warmemorial.org


Institutional Advancement

Joyce Russell
Senior Director of Institutional Advancement
313.332.4075
jrussell@warmemorial.org

Lauren Parrott
Institutional Advancement Coordinator
313.332.4055
lparrott@warmemorial.org


Finance

Elaine Langer
Director of Finance
313.332.4031
elanger@warmemorial.org

Sharon Johnson
Accounts Payable/Payroll Coordinator
313.332.4034
sjohnson@warmemorial.org


Human Resources and Leadership Development

Ericka Sobczak
Senior Manager of Human Resources and Leadership Development
313.332.4070
esobczak@warmemorial.org


Campus Operations

Bryan Tampakes
Senior Manager of Campus Operations
313.332.4076
btampakes@warmemorial.org

David Fluary
Senior Manager of Campus Operations
313.332.4015
dfluary@warmemorial.org

Rebecca Harmon
Campus Operations Coordinator
313.332.4032
rharmon@warmemorial.org


The Grosse Pointe War Memorial Association Board of Directors

Thomas M. Smith, Chair
Anthony Ahee
Amy Chesterton
Betsy Creedon
J. Theodore Everingham, Immediate Past Chair
Malik Goodwin
Dr. Donna Hoban
Chuck Huebner
Scottie Knight
Mary Lamparter
Edmund Lazar
Col. Rolf Mammen
Alicia Nicholson
Stephanie Nicholson
Edward J. Russell III
Kelly Walsh
RJ Wolney

Charles Burke, President and CEO
Rev. Peter Henry, Ph.D., Board Chaplain