Back to All Events

Aeolus Quartet and Franklin Cohen

This is clearly a string quartet to watch.
— Cleveland Plain Dealer
Cohen’s mastery of his instrument is complete and inspirational...magnificent freedom and expression.
— The Oakwood Register

Presented by the Chamber Music Society of Detroit.

The CMSD’s new War Memorial Series continues as the Aeolus Quartet is joined by revered clarinetist Franklin Cohen, former principal of the Cleveland Orchestra.

Both the Aeolus Quartet and Mr. Cohen have become regulars at the CMSD. Mr. Cohen’s past CMSD performances were with pianist Menahem Pressler in 2014-15 and the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio in 2016-17. The Aeolus Quartet has appeared regularly at the CMSD since 2014, in several concerts and in educational programs reaching over 15,000 students.

Mr. Cohen and the Aeolus Quartet will perform together Mozart’s beloved Clarinet Quintet in A major. Also on the program are early Beethoven masterpiece and the one-movement Fourth String Quartet by American composer Ben Johnston, Variations on “Amazing Grace.”


Beethoven: String Quartet in G major, Op. 18, No. 2
Ben Johnston: String Quartet No. 4, “Amazing Grace”
Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A major, K 581


Premium tickets: $45
General admission adult: $30
Seniors: $25
Students and youth: $10
Tickets are sold through Chamber Music Society of Detroit

Earlier Event: January 12
Adriana Lecouvreur